Facts & History
Prince George's County was formed from land in Calvert and Charles Counties by an act of the General Assembly on St. George's Day, April 23, 1696. The County was named for Prince George of Denmark, husband of Princess Anne, heir to the throne of England.
The simple, yet distinctive Prince George's County
flag is a fascinating blend of history and heraldry
dating back to the 11th century. Soon after the
county's founding, it was granted colors for horses
and foot soldiers and a flag consisting of St. George's Cross on a white field. The red cross of St. George has a long-standing tradition of its own as the symbol of Christian martyrdom since its first use during the great Crusades. The county seal in the flag's upper left quadrant did not officially become part of the flag until
1963. At that time, a special committee suggested to the County government that the seal be added to "more definitely establish the colors as uniquely those of Prince George's County."
Charles Beckwith of Patuxent designed the seal in 1696. The coat of arms in four quarters symbolizes Queen Anne, France and England in the first and fourth grand quarters; Scotland in the second grand quarter; and Ireland in the third.
The banner below depicts the county motto, "Semper Eadem," which means "Ever The Same." For more interesting facts about the county, visit the Kid's Connection
(http://www.goprincegeorgescounty.com/SubSites/Visitors/index.htm) pages of the Conference & Visitors Bureau. Additional information can be found on the Prince George'sCounty Memorial Library System web site (http://www.prge.lib.md.us/pg/history.html).