About Properties home search communities financing Contact

Ramtin Zadeh              
Shirley Ayers                
Direct: (301) 775-4236               

Office: (301) 468-0606 ext 249   
Fax: (301) 770 9654

Frederick County






Frederick County is a county located in the western part of the state of Maryland, bordering the southern border of Pennsylvania and the northeastern border of Virginia. It is a part of the Washington-Baltimore Metropolitan Area, and is often recognized as part of Western Maryland. The county is home to Catoctin Mountain Park and the presidential retreat Camp David. The county seat is Frederick, which was home to several celebrated historical figures like Francis Scott Key. The county was named for Frederick Calvert, 6th Baron Baltimore.

Frederick County was created in 1748 from parts of Prince George's County and Baltimore County.

In 1776, Frederick County was divided into three parts. The westernmost portion became Washington County, named after George Washington, the easternmost portion became Montgomery County, named after another Revolutionary War general, Richard Montgomery. The central portion remained Frederick County.

In 1837 a part of Frederick County was combined with a part of Baltimore County to form Carroll County.
According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,728 km˛ (667 mi˛). 1,717 km˛ (663 mi˛) of it is land and 12 km˛ (4 mi˛) of it is water. The total area is 0.67% water.

Attractions in Frederick include the Clustered Spires, a monument to Francis Scott Key, the National Museum of Civil War Medicine, Monocacy battlefield and South Mountain battlefields, and the Schifferstadt Architectural Museum.

Frederick County Links
Frederick County
Frederick County Public Schools
Frederick County Government
Frederick Chamber of Commerce
 © 2006 Agent Image, Inc. All rights reserved.